Front Page Awards for 2012 to recognize New York Newswomen

Newswomen’s Club of New York will present awards at November 15 gala

Occupy Wall Street, the Syrian conflict, and a look inside the case of a child services worker charged with negligent homicide in the death of a 4-year-old are among the subjects tackled in the words and pictures that captured this year’s Front Page Awards presented by the Newswomen’s Club of New York.

The 2012 Front Page Awards will be presented to 60 women for work in 36 categories including online, newspapers, television, wire services, photography, magazines, radio and opinion.

In honor of foreign correspondent Marie Colvin, who was killed in February while covering the conflict between Syrian government troops and rebels in Homs, an award will go to Barbara Plett of the BBC for her continuing work covering the conflict.

The Front Page Award for Lifetime Achievement will go to PBS NewsHour’s senior correspondent Judy Woodruff, who has covered politics and other news for more than three decades at CNN, NBC and PBS. The Front Page Award for Newswoman of the Year will go to photographer Stephanie Keith for her coverage of Occupy Wall Street. Keith’s work has been published by the Associated Press, ABC News, NBC News, the New York Times, the Wall Street Journal and international news organizations.

The Martha Coman Award for best new journalist will go to Esme E. Deprez of Bloomberg.

Among the women expected to present this year’s awards are Kathleen Carroll of The Associated Press, Debby Krenek of Newsday, Chrystia Freeland of Reuters, Susie Gharib of Nightly Business Report, Laura Walker of New York Public Radio, Elinor Tatum of the Amsterdam News, Laurel Touby of Mediabistro and City Council Speaker Christine Quinn.

As the only professional organization devoted to supporting women journalists in the New York metropolitan area, the Newswomen’s Club’s mission is to provide networking and learning opportunities for members, promote good journalism and recognize exceptional work in our field. Much of that recognition happens at the Newswomen’s Club of New York’s annual black-tie awards dinner, which the Club has hosted for 75 years to honor the year’s best work in a host of categories. 

This year’s pre-awards cocktail reception is being sponsored by Prudential Financial, Inc.We hope you will join us on November 15 to honor some of America’s great journalists. Visit our website at for details.





Spot News – Jill Colvin, Julie Shapiro, Carla Zanoni, Shayna Jacobs, Serena Solomon, New York


In-Depth – Blake Ellis, CNN Money


Digital Video – Julia Xanthos, New York Daily News


Multimedia News Package – Mirela Iverac, Jennifer Hsu, Xana Oneill, New York Public Radio


Blogs – Julianne Pepitone, Stacy Cowley, Catherine Tymkiw, CNN Money




Spot News – Martinne Geller, Reuters


In-Depth Reporting – Patricia Hurtado, Bloomberg


Beat Reporting – Janet Lorin, Bloomberg


Feature – Joan Gralla, Reuters




Spot News – Jennifer Cunningham, New York Daily News


In-Depth Reporting – Julie Creswell and Reed Abelson, The New York Times


Beat Reporting – Elisabeth Rosenthal, The New York Times


Feature – Amy Harmon, The New York Times


Nellie Bly Award for Best Bylined Front Page Story – Emily Dooley, Newsday




Best Front Page Photo – Mary Altaffer, Associated Press


Breaking News Photo – Debbie Egan-Chin, New York Daily News


Feature Photo – Susan Watts, New York Daily News




Breaking News – Nancy Solomon, New York Public Radio


Feature – Deborah Jian Lee, Sushma Subramanian, for Chicago Public Radio




Breaking News – Diane Sawyer, Lana Zak, Sarah Amos, Susan Aasen, Lisa Ferri, ABC News


Special Reporting Series – Diane Sawyer, Sharyn Alfonsi, Keturah Gray, Joan Martelli, Sarah Koch, Claire Weinraub, Brinda Adhikari, Jessica Velmans, Terri Lichstein, ABC News


Feature – Diane Sawyer, Ann Reynolds, Terri Lichstein, Jessica Velmans, Claire Weinraub, Elissa Stohler, ABC News


Interview – Robin Roberts, Virginia Mosley, Good Morning America, ABC


Documentary – Meredith Ramsey, Dan Rather Reports




News –  Jeannine Amber, Essence


Features – Jennifer Gonnerman, New York Magazine


In-Depth Reporting – Helen Zelon for City Limits


Specialized Reporting


Fashion – Vanessa Friedman, Financial Times


Sports – Marianne McCune, Sue Jaye Johnson, Karen Frillmann, WNYC


Opinion/Criticism – Rebecca Traister,


Science – Sarah Elizabeth Richards, Elle


Medicine/Health/Fitness – Missy Sullivan, SmartMoney


Business – Janet Babin, New York Public Radio


Martha Coman Award for Best New Journalist – Esme E. Deprez, Bloomberg


Marie Colvin Front Page Award for Foreign Correspondence – Barbara Plett, BBC


Newswoman of the Year – Stephanie Keith


Lifetime Achievement – Judy Woodruff, PBS NewsHour

Leave a Reply